Château Montauriol Tradition

MY RATING: 8/10

ORIGIN: France (Sud-Ouest, Fronton)

VARIETALS: Négrette (60%), Cabernet franc (20%), Syrah (20%)

SAQ PRICE: $14.10

IN A NUTSHELL:  A reliable, medium-bodied, everyday red

I used to buy this wine regularly but had forgotten about it for a few years. I’m glad I rediscovered it. It is a great little medium-bodied, fruity red to have in your collection, and it offers very good value for money as far as I’m concerned. At first taste, it is reminiscent of a light Pinot, with lots of strawberry. It has a pleasant, spicy, smooth finish, with a hint of vanilla and lavender. I’m not sure why, but it made me crave grilled salmon, so I think I’ll be so bold as to suggest a food pairing!

Leave a Reply

